There’s nothing quite like a good break-up song. Trust me, I should know. I was in a perpetual state of actively breaking up with my ex or trying to move on after one of our many break-ups from September 2002 until I met my husband in 2011.

In fact, my marathon break-up went on for so long that I, and many of my friends and family members, were beginning to think that I would NEVER move on and would end up a Dickensian tragedy — like Miss Havisham from Great Expectations, alone in a dark, dank, cobweb-covered room, commiserating about unrequited love while still wearing a musty wedding gown and seated alongside a moldy, rat-eaten wedding cake (or, in my case, clinging to a dusty bottle of CVS wine and a pint of Ben and Jerry’s while watching made-for-cable movies on Lifetime in sweatpants and bunny slippers).

Helena Bonham Carter as Miss Havisham in an upcoming film remake of Great Expectations

Fortunately for me, and for all those in my inner-circle who were stuck in Groundhog Day due to my ceaseless whining and bitching about my ex, I eventually moved on. One of the things that helped me finally move forward was my mack-daddy compilation of break-up songs — a playlist I named “Detach!” for obvious reasons.

Although I am now happily married, I still love listening to my “Detach!” playlist and belting out the soul-edifying songs that played such an integral part in shaping my personal history.

So for all of you who are in the midst of a break-up or who have ever stood at the precipice of heartbreak, here’s my list of Top 10 Break-Up Songs.

I hope everyone has a wonderful, safe Labor Day weekend.  — Marilyn

10.  Better Off Alone by Katherine McPhee

9.   Undo It by Carrie Underwood

8.   I’m Moving On by Rascall Flatts

7.   Over You by Daughtry

6.   Since You’ve Been Gone by Kelly Clarkson

5.   Goodbye to You by The Veronicas

4.   A Little Stronger by Sara Evans

 3.   Forget You by Cee Lo Green

 2.   I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor

 1.   Any song ever sung by Adele***

 ***Disclaimer: I had not yet discovered Adele when I was going through my break-up-from-Hell. As I have since learned, all break-ups should be graded on a scale of 1 to Adele because the album she wrote while reeling from her own heartbreak is phenomenal. Now that I know about Adele, I can’t get enough of her music, and I would be remiss if I did not give her entire anthology of you-screwed-me-over songs the #1 spot.

 Honorable Mentions:

No More Drama by Mary J. Blige

Gives You Hell by the All American Rejects

I Didn’t Know My Own Strength by Whitney Houston

Pray for You by Jaron and the Long Road to Love

Time for Me to Fly by REO Speedwagon

Leave (Get Out) JoJo

Irreplaceable by Beyonce’

Lesson in Leavin’ by Jo Dee Messina

I Can’t Hate You Anymore by Nick Lachey

Strange by Reba McEntrie

I Don’t Want You Back by Laura Izibor

No More Tears (Enough is Enough) by Barbra Streisand and Donna Summer

Better in Time by Leona Lewis

Stronger by Britney Spears

Kiss This by Aaron Tippin

Fighter by Christina Aguilera

